RSS Feed

Olympics from Korea

Posted on

Well I know that this is not a bit outdated seeing as the supposed amazing Olympic closing ceremony was days ago… I wanted to say a lil about the perspective of watching Olympics from a foreign country, South Korea.

I have never watched so much archery, badmitton, fencing, and judo in my life. I have also never seen so much rivalry against Japan either, pretty amusing. We watched a big judo match versus Japan on the way to Jeju during my summer vacation and the tour guide of our trip was cheering with joy when Japan lost. Yes, our tour bus had a tv and norebang (karaoke).

I couldn’t escape it the Korean sports. If a Korean was competeing, it was on, otherwise, sol. I did get to watch some gymnastics with the hula hoop, and a little bit of track and field one night at the gym.  I did get to see Bolt set his record, but other than that, I was a bit deprived of my usual Olympic favorites; beach volleyball, swimming, normal gymnastics.

I was living in Australia during the Winter Olympics in Vancounver and did not really occur to me that I would be in a non English speaking country next time the Olympics came around. I guess one of those things you kind of take for granted before moving abroad.

All in all, I am well rounded in my Olympic sports now. Never actually seen badmitton, judo, fencing, or archery for that matter. Not sure if I will ever again by choice.

Ohhh Korea, thank you again for the free entertainment. Like the crazy lady that screamed at the top of her lungs and her husband in the mall on Wednesday afternoon, whilst holding their baby. The sound was comparable to scratching long nails on a chalk board, made many heads turn. Free entertainment at its finest.

Hot and humid here, again. Almost hit 6 months. Can you believe it, I can’t ?!

 

Love always

 

 

“Love many, trust few, but always paddle your own canoe ” ❤

About kerlerd

traveling nomad.

Leave a Reply

