RSS Feed

Teachers Summer Vacation in Korea

Posted on

As most teachers are used to, receiving the nice three months of vacation… here in South Korea it is a bit different. I get a whopping 5 days. Lucky Me!! I cannot wait… actually I can. It’s probably going to go so fast and then bam back to reality, till I figure something else out…

This summer I will be traveling to Jeju Island, South Korea. It is probably the top vacation destination for summer vacation which usually falls somewhere in August for most people. According to a majority of my students, they will also be going to Jeju Island. It is a volcanic island and also containts the highest mountain in South Korea. It’s filled with lots to do and see all around the island so our itinerary is jam-packed with sights and tours of the area. Yes, I said it, itinerary. I am indeed going on a group tour through Adventure Korea. Lucky me.
I am usually so against said ‘group tours’ and trust me, nothing has persuaded me otherwise. We paid a reasonable about for a 5-day trip via ferry (which I have been highly recommended to do) and tons to see and do.
I think that Korea is not the easiest place to see and do in a short amount of time and wanted to make the most of my 5 days off from this j-o-b. Will be heading there from Saturday- Wednesday. Then going to UMF Korea on Friday and Saturday.
Should be a good week all in all. I am excited. Hopefully the whole group trip doesn’t fail me, and the weather. It is also rainy season. Pray for the best plan for the worst. Will be over-packing in case of being drenched at any moment of the day.

In other news, been quite happy to be away from the land of guns lately. America is really firing up at each other. It is nuts. Read briefly about the Chick-fil-a scandal, come on now how ridiculous. Joe Pa and all that mess (EW), and of course the Colorado shooting. People are disturbing, especially in America. I guess each part of the world has it’s own problems in one way or another.

School is same ole same. Had a Pajama Party last friday which I got to work a lovely 13 hour day. How exciting. The students came back around 6pm after leaving for an hour or so, but most of them ended up staying. We had a pretty terrible chicken bbq dinner (processed chicken on a stick frozen and cooked on a pan, do not be fooled), and some fruits and other random sides. Then we had a fashion show where everyone walked this little cat walk and then we had a big pillow fight. I have seemed to master the ‘look bored to tears look’ and for the past two after hours events we have had at school they let me go like 30-45 minutes early. Woot. It is quite painful actually, and cannot stand the idea of working another weekend day at this dreaded place of work. I signed up for it across the world, so I will somehow manage to get myself out of it, hopefully….

Other than that not much is really new here. Have a few days off in the beginning of October so trying to decide where to go… If I can even think of affording something. Stupid bills/loans.

I have continued my white rice ban, except a few kimchi jjigae feedings that have definitely not been as frequent.

Attended two weekends in a row at mud festival in Boryeong at Daechon Beach. What a beautiful place. It was definitely built up everywhere around for the foreign attraction for the two weeks the event ran. It was definitely a good time. The first weekend we had a bit of rain on Saturday night that made for an interesting time, drunk walking around trying to find shelter. Then the next day we were blessed with some sunshine at the beach and most mud and beers.
The second weekend was steaming hot Saturday and Sunday without a speck of rain. Got to enjoy the mud and soju yet again, and see a little Akon and Wondergirls at Green Groove Festival near the beach on Saturday night. Good times all in all and would definitely recommend the events to anyone near Korea at that time.

I will sign off for now, this is a bit of a bore, I am sorry. It is hard to update with photos whilst at school, but one of these days. I promise. Love to all my 2 readers out there… or no one it seems since I never get any love/ comments on here :/

xoxo

About kerlerd

traveling nomad.

One response »

  1. Hi Kelly! I am reading! I’m at work and had some free time, figured I’d see if you posted anything (because I am jealous you are in S. Korea teaching kiddos and I am attempting to live vicariously through you until I have the guts/time to do the same). I’ve read all your posts from bottom to here now, and cracked up about the eyebrows! One of our international students is from Seoul and recently took another one of our African students there to visit… She is OBSESSED with “Big Bang” Do you know them? Girly looking male singers, some with blue hair? I agree, definitely not the selection of males in S. Korea that we had in Aussie 😉 Haha- Enjoy your time, even when it’s tough. Just remember, everyone else is living a boring life at home and you’re being adventurous and doing what people wish they had the guts to! I had to tell myself this almost daily while living in Norway.

    -Nicole

    Reply

Leave a Reply

